MatthewWilson

How waiting inspired me to write a movie.

5 posts in this topic

I wrote and directed a comedy called "The Virgins" that will come out on iTunes July 18.  Here's a repost of the blog I wrote about my journey to writing the film:

"Is this one of those stupid Christian movies?"

I was a film student at Biola University when "The Omega Code" came out.  Since it was a Christian school we were able to arrange a special screening of the film and some of the producers came for Q&A after.  I was excited going in.  I had grown up on movies, and now, for the first time ever, I could talk to people who had actually made one.  So I watched it.  And I was appalled.  What a terrible movie!  The only question I had afterwards was, "What were you thinking?!"

To be fair, the producers were honest and self-deprecating and admitted it hadn't quite turned out like they hoped.  But my feeling of disappointment remained.  And when the film was released the feeling was shared by young believers across the nation (and reinforced with many other equally-bad Christian films).  What an embarrassment!  This makes us look so uncool!  And just like that, a generation of young Christians were inspired to have nothing to do with Christian films.

So I went off to Hollywood with a desire to make real movies.  Movies that would entertain people, just like the movies I loved growing up had entertained me (none of which were Christian movies).  And oh, how surprised the world would be when they learned a Christian had made them!  All I had to do was make big Hollywood movies that achieved overwhelming commercial and critical success and then my shame would be left behind.

And I wasn't alone.  I met many fellow believers in the industry, and none of them had any interest in making Christian films.