Geraldine

Give the Guy a Chance to be a Gentleman

5 posts in this topic

Original article By: Bethany Baird : https://www.girldefined.com/give-guy-chance-gentleman

I was a sophomore in high school and had just finished playing in the semi-finals for a big basketball tournament. As my team and I were sitting in the bleachers scouting out our competition, one of the high school guys teams came and sat right behind us.

It just so happened that these guys went on to introduce themselves and quickly struck up a conversation.

As our conversation with these guys gained speed, my ears quickly tuned into their major language problem. Their English was fine, but their choice of words was filled with profanity and inappropriate comments.

Being the outgoing girl on my team, I turned around and looked at the leader of this guy pack.

I said something like this, “I really don’t think it’s appropriate to curse in front of ladies. So if you’d like to talk to us, please don’t curse.” (the teenage Bethany was doing her best to say, “stop talking that way.”)

I wish you could have seen the look on the dudes face.

I’m pretty sure I was the first girl that had ever asked him something like that. He looked totally shocked and surprised.

What happened next was incredible though.

The change in his attitude and behavior was amazing.

He went from cursing, inappropriate flirting and crude joking, to talking and acting like a true gentleman.

In that moment, I realized that all he needed was someone to act in a way that expected more of him. Instead of allowing him to sit there and curse up a storm, I challenged him to a higher standard.

I’m not saying that this will change every boy into a gentleman, but I’ve seen it work more times than just once. I’m amazed at how my personal behavior and words have directly affected the way that guys have chosen to treat me.

Give the guy a chance.