K.G.

Do you belive in love at first sight?

20 posts in this topic

No. I think it's mostly a load of BS.

But I do believe in "I think you're cute" at first sight, and crush after first friendly conversation.  :)

8 people like this

Heh.  As a physicist, I need real data to declare my take on these kinds of things.  All I know is: I haven't ever experienced love at first sight so far in life.  That doesn't mean it can't happen.  My reasoning on this is, at best, inductive unless it actually happens someday.  Then I will be able to deductively say it is so...

I do know attraction in my life works incredibly quickly.  I am either attracted to someone or not, and I know to what degree.  Conversely, women have been able to tell whether or not they are attracted to me, and to what degree.  Whether this ever extends to love is uncertain.  I am also uncertain as to whether love of this kind is mutual.  I suspect it isn't in general since so many songs dwell on this very issue of one loving another who doesn't love them back...

2 people like this

On a movie I saw recently, quoting, although I don't know how is it relevant, this thread reminds me of this: : "love at first sight, kill at first betrayal."

1 person likes this

Well I have three theories on why love at first sight happens, two of them involves the paranormal:

One is lust where the guy/girl wants the person because the person is attractive. 

The second theory involves reincarnation. It's possible that two lovers lived before and knew each other in their previous lives and that when they meet they are basically reuniting with one another. There are stories of how some couples when they experience love at first sight, they have the feeling that they knew each other 

before.