Sabrina

Hi! virgin newbie here

24 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!  Just thought I'd introduce myself.  I'm a 25 year old nurse from Brooklyn (born and raised baby); I come from a big, loud, awesome family and I have lots of neices and nephews.  My youngest brother and I are especially close since we're the only ones still living at home.

My family is Christian, and I personally became a Christian at 17.  What my parents taught me as a kid about saving intimacy for marriage made sense to me.  In college, I did more research on the topic, reading books such as "Hooked" and "Unprotected", and cross-referencing with my biochem & physiology classes - all of it made sense on another level.  The bonding mechanisms of oxytocin, the effects of pheremones, etc.  At times, I felt like such a naive loser for not having sex like everyone else in college, but the scientific knowledge reinforced my decision to remain a virgin.  Although guys asked me out, I never accepted, because I knew they didn't share my values or my faith, and I didn't want to string them along for no reason. 

However, I spent a lot of time studying with guys, since I was in a major that had more guys than girls (chemistry).  I found it was really easy to become emotionally entangled with guys, even though I didn't do anything more physical than a casual hug - that is something I still struggle with.