Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Woman marries Jesus

10 posts in this topic

'My students asked if they should call me Mrs. Hayes when I come back to school next week, and no, I’m still Ms,' she said.

As a student I would not have wanted to know *anything* about my teacher's sex life, even if it was about her lack of sex-having. O_o

I guess I just don't see the point of having this sort of mid-point between being a normal Catholic person who happens to be a virgin, and becoming a full-fledged nun. Maybe someone could explain it...?

1 person likes this

As a student I would not have wanted to know *anything* about my teacher's sex life, even if it was about her lack of sex-having. O_o

I guess I just don't see the point of having this sort of mid-point between being a normal Catholic person who happens to be a virgin, and becoming a full-fledged nun. Maybe someone could explain it...?

The article stated that it's because if they become a nun, they must make vows of poverty and obedience, as well as live in a convent. By living as a "consecrated virgin," rather than a nun, they don't have to take those other vows or live in a convent.  

1 person likes this

The article stated that it's because if they become a nun, they must make vows of poverty and obedience, as well as live in a convent. By living as a "consecrated virgin," rather than a nun, they don't have to take those other vows or live in a convent.  

But I guess my point is I don't see why someone would only swear to remain a virgin forever without taking on the other vows, or at least, why it's necessary to have an entirely separate ceremony and special name for such a person. It seems like it places kind of an odd focus on her (lack of) sex life.

1 person likes this

I do admire her passion, but find it extremely frightening that so many adults can claim to have a loving relationship with somebody they have never met...

1 person likes this