Novelist

Obligatory Introduction

12 posts in this topic

Hi, newbie here.

I have to admit I hate introducing myself on forums. I always feel like I'm at an AA meeting or something. "I'm Novelist, and I'm a virgin."

Anyway, I'm a late-20s woman and aspiring author trying to make peace with the fact that my commitment to abstinence has relegated me to a kind of social isolation. I have had (and have) friends who understood my commitment, but I always sensed a touch of, "You poor little naive thing; the real world's gonna hit you like a load of bricks" about it. A sort of affectionate judgement, as if I didn't know. Maybe I imagined it, or maybe I was just projecting what I was thinking myself.

Another issue I've had is a complete lack of understanding concerning the emotional toll which waiting for nearly 30 years has taken on me. Dating feels impossible, like a hide and seek game--How long can I keep my clean little secret? And I feel very undesirable knowing that, while a few men have been very eager to sleep with me, no one has ever found me worth pursuing in the long run. I look in the mirror, and my every flaw seems magnified. Aging is starting to terrify me, and I never, ever wanted to be THAT woman. Since my libido has (naturally) waned a bit since adolescence, I sometimes feel angry to have "wasted" the best of my sexuality. The biggest issue is that, while I am religious and have faith in God, I have very little faith in people anymore.

My hope was that interacting with other people who are also abstinent would be liberating, in the sense that I would feel less judged and that, surely, many here would also understand the struggle, both physical and emotional, of waiting for something that might never happen.

Well, I didn't mean to post so much, but I guess my name should have warned you. I'm not always such a sad sack, btw. I'm just frustrated right now.

--Novelist.

4 people like this