Queen

Higher Education

19 posts in this topic

Just like Libs thread here: Higher Education

How do us women feel about our man having an education?

My answer:  The more educated I become, the more I appreciate conversation that education nourishes.  I prefer a man with at least a bachelor's degree.  I think I would be a great supportive wife to a medical doctor for example, because I understand the terminology and all the basics of the medical field.  Or an engineer because I love creating prototypes and inventing (although there is still a ton I could learn). 

I am a first generation college student.  My dad does not have a college education and I thoroughly respect that.  I'd even consider dating someone without a college degree. Especially if they were open to me sharing all the interesting things I've learned in college or if they have a sense of wonder.  More importantly than college, I think it is important (and attractive) for a man to have a set of career skills.  Skills that are marketable.  That means he's thinking about his future and his contribution in society.  My uncle said to me once, the secret to success is to know how to help people.  If you know how to help people, you'll never have to look for work.  People will always be coming to you.  They'll need the skill that you have (such as fixing cars).  If you need to go to college to attain a skill, then do that. 

I'd also rather my man work 2 or 3 jobs to make ends meet than to not work at all because he couldn't find a job in his field.

What do you think ladies?  Education a requirement, preference, or not?

5 people like this

I already sort of talked about this in the other thread, but maybe I can elaborate a little more here.