HopefulPoet

Religion as a dealbreaker: How can you say it nicely?

13 posts in this topic

Hey guys! (And also girls, I'm just too lazy to post to both forums!)

I know I haven't been active on here in a while, but I need a bit of advice about something.

So, I've been talking to this guy for about two months (we live in the same town, but I'm currently in England studying abroad, and we didn't really know each other until a week before I left), and while we haven't been able to hang out or go on a date yet, he's told me it's his intention to take me out as soon as I get home in a few months. I really enjoy talking to him, and he's incredibly sweet and smart, but I've recently found out that his faith and mine don't align (I'm Christian and he's Atheist). Not only that, but when I bring up my faith (not in a "I'd like to talk to you about Jesus and convert you" way, but in a "hey this really cool God moment happened today and I'd like to share it with someone I care about" way) he shuts it down immediately, and doesn't seem interested in what I say at all.

My faith is such a vital part of who I am and how I live my life, and the discord between our two beliefs is honestly too much for me to really continue to want to date him. I need someone who I can grow in faith with, and who shares my sense of hope and optimism for the universe. This guy is smart, funny, and really sweet, and I just don't know how best to say this to him? I'm worried that using this reason will turn him from God even more so, or that he'll think it's bogus and get angry/his feelings hurt? Is there a way to say this gently? Or is it going to be a Band-Aid situation no matter what I do? And, for the girls that read this, have you ever had similar problems? What should I do??

Thanks so much for reading that super long thing, any advice helps! :)

-HP

4 people like this