Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mike

Mike - 28/M

14 posts in this topic

Hello All,

I'm Mike, creator of waitingtillmarriage.org. For those that care: I'm a 27-year-old guy from Georgia. I'm a programmer by day and a writer/exercise addict by night. I like running, cycling, mountain biking, lifting weights, and helping people. I'm back in school for psychology and planning to stay there all the way through grad school.

I decided to wait until marriage to have sex when I was about 17. I was dating a girl and it was going *that* direction, to the point where I had to deliberately make a decision about whether or not I would have sex.

I decided that I at least wanted to wait until there was real love on both sides...and when I considered how casually the word "love" was tossed out all around me (again, I was in high school) without any real meaning attached to it...I figured I might as well just wait until marriage, since that was the likely time that I would have the love I wanted to wait for.

Now, 10 years later, I've had plenty of great dating relationships, but none that I would classify as full-blown love. Some have come close, but were still missing something very obvious (at least in retrospect).

These days I'm of the opinion that real mutual love is so rare that once you find it you will probably marry that person anyways. So waiting on mutual love and waiting till marriage are basically the same thing in my book...at least based on my image of love, as evolved through all the relationships I've had/witnessed.

Thankfully I've been close enough to the kind of love I'm looking for that I am convinced that it is very attainable and hopefully one day I'll find/earn it for myself.

In the mean time, I'm still waiting. And I still think it will be worth it.

Mike, I am exactly like you, accept 29. I'm a musician and part-time web developer and you and I have pretty much the exact same story. I feel for you man. I hope we both find what we're waiting for.