Guest redyellowblue

Ba Dum Tshh

10 posts in this topic

Do any of you play any musical instruments? I'm wanting to learn how to play one - so what would you recommend for a complete beginner - and, , dont say recorder, cause I did that in the 3rd grade! "Hot Cross Buns!" :) ahaha

Anyway, is it even possible since Im hearing impaired? Would I end up bloodying someone's ears? Ive always wanted to learn how to play the banjo or the steel guitar!!

I play the piano, though not regularly, and not very well. I would highly recommend it for a beginner. As for whether or not it is possible to have a successful music career when hearing impaired, I suppose that depends on your level of commitment and the quality of instruction you receive, but remember, Beethoven continued to compose, conduct, and perform after becoming completely deaf, so have hope! If you were to learn to read music and take a few piano lessons, you should be able to play basic melodies. Start simply, make a strong foundation, and then build from there. I cannot speak for the banjo or steel guitar, having never played those, but I wish you every success!

1 person likes this

I'm no guitar virtuoso but here is my .o2 cents:

I play guitar (steel string acoustic). I do think it is possible to play a music instrument even if you are hearing impaired (hey Beethoven did it). I agree with WW, start with a basic foundation and then build upwards. For guitar, I would recommend learning about the parts of the guitar first (bridge, fret board/neck, tuning knobs etc..). Eventually, moving onto learning basic musical theory for guitar like note placement on the guitar fret board, scales, fret board positions, chords, beat duration, time signatures etc.. You will find that possessing some musical theory (even if it not so much) will help you learn how to play songs faster.