Invincible

Homeschooling

37 posts in this topic

In light of the tragic school shooting in Connecticut, many people are now strongly considering homeschooling their children because they don't feel public schools are safe anymore. I happen to agree though I've been considering it for my future kids way before.

I've heard that homeschooled kids tend to have high grades on average and pay better attention than their public school counterparts. This may have something to do with the overall low quality of education in our public school systems. Some would argue that homeschooling is detrimental to a child's social development and can have trouble interacting with others. That does not need to be so as long as you get them involved in extra curricular activities such as sports and church.

What do you guys think?

1 person likes this

I would definitely want to homeschool my children. Actually, one of the many reasons I became a teacher was to be prepared to do this. I work in a school setting so almost every day I hear about kids being bullied emotionally, physically and mentally (and saw it when I was in school) and how many are influenced to do things they don’t want to do because of peer pressure. In addition to this, there are a ton of other reasons why I’m in favor of it. For example, I’ll be able to monitor their whole learning process and focus on their individual learning needs; we would also have more family time together. I think children spend more time in school and in other activities nowadays than at home. There’s little to no family time.

As for the socializing thing, I have no worry there. There are always play dates, ballet, tennis, swimming, baseball, basketball and many others. And, anyways, for most kids what does “socializing†in school mean? Being bullied, mocked, forgotten, badly influenced, etc. What are the benefits of that?

Sorry for the long rant...I just feel strongly about this subject :)

7 people like this