WanderingWashingtonian

What are your favorite religious verses?

22 posts in this topic

What are your favorite verses?

As a Christian, I am curious to see, for those who do read the Bible, which passages are most special to you. I am still pretty new to Bible study, and have a lot of reading to do, but I have been keeping a list of the best verses I discover, and I hope to memorize them.

I know that we have people of all religions here, and of no religions, so feel free to include passages from the Torah or the Quran or other books of religious teaching here, or to create threads specifically for those. Everyone is welcome to post if they wish!

Edited by WanderingWashingtonian

In no order, I'd have to say Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, Jeremiah 29:11, Proverbs 22:6, Isaiah 40:28-30, Isaiah 54:10, 1 Corinithians 2:9, Romans 8:28 and all of Ephesians 5 and Proverbs 31 :) However, the more I read the Bible, the more applicable I find Scripture (even in the modern day) and I just fall in love with His Word even more!

1 person likes this

I have several pages collected so far, but a few that stand out as special favorites for me right now are:

ISA 41:13 For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

1 CHRON 28:20 ... "Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you...â€

1 COR 13:4-8a Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails. ...

PSA 27:14 Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.