ohmercyme

For Love Or Money?

17 posts in this topic

Okay so this may not exactly be a WTM topic, but it is an issue I run into often and am very curious about it. On the dating site OkCupid there is a question in the Q&A section that reads as follows...

"What is your greatest motivation in life, love or wealth?"

The answer of love would seem to be the obvious one, but I'm shocked to find that about 90% of the girls answers was wealth! Nothing about that sat well with me. I mean, I'm sure everyone would like to be successful in their careers and the like, but....ugh!

It's a dating site, so even if they did have a love for money, giving that message when trying to find a mate isn't a very good one in my book.

I'm a writer in the television business who as of recently have found myself on the edge of having some nationwide success (fingers crossed) and people keep telling me if that happens I will find myself much more attractive to women. Why?, I haven't changed any so- oh wait my paycheck got bigger so....there it is again.

I can't speak for the guys really, I'm sure they like money too, but I've never heard of a guy disliking a girl because she wasn't rich enough, only the other way around.

So what gives? What is this obsession with money that most girls seem to have?

Well, looking at okcupid.com is the first problem. Okcupid has a reputation for casual hookups, not for long-term, meaningful relationships. That's not the dating website you'd go to for people of substance. I think eHarmony is the dating site for people who are more geared towards marriage.

I can't speak for the guys really, I'm sure they like money too, but I've never heard of a guy disliking a girl because she wasn't rich enough, only the other way around.

So what gives? What is this obsession with money that most girls seem to have?